Smile!

So I’ve been building a database with FileMaker Pro 8 in my spare time at work. Partly in hopes that I’ll get a very particular promotion (which probably isn’t going to happen at this point), partly because by doing so I can extract lessons from the company’s database superhero and partly because I just like learning stuff like that. (I dreamed about my database last night.) I’ve been working on it for a week now but I only got to pick my would-be mentor’s brain the very first day because she hasn’t been in since. I’m very much a wing-it learner, though so I’ve been making good progress. (I think.) When I come across something I just can’t figure out, I jot it down to ask about later.

Today was the first day that I’ve been able to go back to my can’t-do list and problem solve by myself. I was quite pleased with myself when all of a sudden I figured out how to make PartSpools display “Y” when PartSpools > 0 and “N” when PartSpools = 0. (It sounds so simple now!) And then I was even more pleased with myself when I figured out how to make InStock display GreyBox when InStock was empty, but also display RedBox when InStock ≤ 8 and GreyBox the rest of the time. And then it dawned on me that I merely had to use a simple calculation to resolve my swatch conundrum.

I was so excited that I just couldn’t stop smiling.

0 Responses to “Smile!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

