A little catch-up.

My lack of posting (more lacking than usual, that is) can be attributed to my iBook G4, which has taken up a final resting place below a pile of magazines and the now empty box for my new MacBook. Which I’ll be paying off for the next year. But at least it’s pretty and new and I can move the screen more than a couple inches and I love it so dearly that I even turn it off at night!

In food news, I made a massive pot of megabeefy chili which lasted us four whole days. If ground beef causes cancer like Stork suggested over his bacon cheeseburger at lunch this afternoon, then we’ve definitely got it. I followed a Cook’s Illustrated recipe but added a teaspoon of cinnamon and half a pound of ground beef because I didn’t feel like freezing it and can’t seem to follow a recipe. I also made their “Northern Style Cornbread” which I found terribly disappointing but Stork said he likes. Even though it’s still sitting on the counter, hm… And then I made some espresso and cream cheese brownies which were the most dense, chocolatey brownies I’ve ever eaten. They’re the highlight of my day and I don’t know what I’ll do when they’re gone.

We also got our first real snow. Together is my new favorite program. Apple cider and Captain Morgan are an underpaid, overworked girl’s best friend. I cried when Bradford Meade died. I wish I could marry Nick Cave’s voice. And we had the oil in the truck changed which doesn’t seem like much but they also vacuumed out the truck and you’d think that the feeling of stepping into a clean vehicle would be motivation enough to keep it tidy—but it isn’t.

Oh, and Otis Redding’s “Gone Again” just came on, followed by “Hoist That Rag.” The iPod’s on a roll. Babe, you turn me on.

0 Responses to “A little catch-up.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

