Citrus Pork with Egg Noodles

We’ve been in a cooking rut—well, more like a pit. (And not the good type of pit that has a pig roasting inside it.) We’ve been there for months. I’ve narrowed the causes down to lack of inspiration and lack of motivation. But I’m proud to report that this week, we ate real dinners every night. (I’m also proud to report that I did all the preparation and cooking myself. That includes the handling of all meat.) The highlights were sautéed salmon with brown rice, roasted zucchini and cucumber-tomato-dill salad and the citrus pork with egg noodles from Simply Recipes.

I’ve used Simply Recipes before and I get good results. This was my first meal-type recipe and it was definitely a crowd-pleaser. A little on the sweet side (something I’ll change next time) but the meat was very flavorful. I made a few tweaks along the way because I couldn’t help myself. To the vegetables, I added broccoli because what’s a dinner without broccoli? To the green onions, I added a half-cup. To the salt-pepper-cumin, I added ground cardamom, a little very generic curry powder and four cloves of minced garlic. To the meat, I added another half-pound. I let the meat hang out with the spices for ~ 15 minutes while I sat around and twiddled my thumbs because I hadn’t put much thought into timing things right. I also sautéed the meat longer than 2 minutes because what the hell do I know about meat? I used to be vegan.

1 Response to “Citrus Pork with Egg Noodles”


  1. 1 absinthemyth July 7, 2007 at 12:59 am

    “I also sautéed the meat longer than 2 minutes because what the hell do I know about meat? I used to be vegan.”

    i do that too. i figure, slightly over-cooked meat = better than food poisoning.


Leave a Reply

